International Arbitration

For over half a century, NERA Economic Consulting experts have been central to client success in some of the world’s highest-profile disputes, regulatory proceedings, and business challenges. Our international arbitration team, backed by more than 400 economists around the world, are recognized leaders in providing the level of economic support needed in today’s arbitration cases.

We work closely with our clients through every stage of the arbitration process and provide thorough analyses based on well-established economic, financial, and valuation principles. We have a reputation for objectivity and draw on decades of extensive litigation experience to help law firms and companies navigate a wide range of disputes in various arbitration venues.

Our experts have worked on some of the most complex and important international arbitration cases in the world. Our extensive experience and knowledge of industries and markets enables us to provide the independent advice and expert testimony needed for successful outcomes across all arbitration venues. Our team of experts has conducted numerous damages, valuation, and compensation analyses in both commercial and investor-state arbitrations, using sophisticated financial and economic modeling techniques.

The NERA difference is that our experts bring a strong applied industry expertise and provide a uniquely rigorous analytical approach and unwavering commitment to independent and unbiased expert opinions. Our economic experts have substantial direct experience with key markets and industries. NERA’s broad range of industry expertise includes energy, transport, telecom, health care, life sciences, financial services, and securities, among others.

NERA’s experts are retained in disputes related to commercial agreements, bilateral investment treaties, and insurance coverage for political risk. We provide damage assessments in the process of contract renegotiation for avoiding arbitration, and in formulating strategies to deal with the termination of concessions. Our team is global, but we also provide a strong local presence and native language capabilities.

NERA’s experts regularly testify in arbitration proceedings under all major institutional and procedural rules, including:

  • International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
  • London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA)
  • Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce (SCC)
  • International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • Comisión Interamericana de Arbitraje Comercial (CIAC)
  • Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC)
  • United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
  • Japan Commercial Arbitration Association (JCAA)
  • American Arbitration Association (AAA)
  • Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC)
  • Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
  • New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
  • Vienna International Arbitral Centre (VIAC) of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber
  • Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • Lands Tribunal

NERA brings a uniquely rigorous approach to conducting sophisticated economic analysis and offering advice on appropriate, realistic, and practical real-life answers. We have spent decades explaining complex matters to laypeople and advising governments and global organizations on matters that affect nations and consumers.

NERA is distinguished by our commitment to independence of thought, which comes from strong, genuine interest and commitment to economics and markets. 

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Tsvetan Beloreshki Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5409 tsvetan.beloreshki@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Managing Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 10
+32 2 282 4340
tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
Milan
+34 91 521 00 20
+39 02 30577800
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Yves Hervé Managing Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 508 yves.herve@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Managing Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, NERA’s Global Environmental Economics Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
George Anstey Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Jorge Baez Director Miami
New York City
Mexico City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
+52 55 9628 7550
jorge.baez@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Kristopher Boushie Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9228 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Dr. Vladimir Starkov Director Chicago +1 312 573 2806 vladimir.starkov@nera.com
Dr. Chris Stomberg Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9219 chris.stomberg@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
William P. Hrycay Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1518 william.hrycay@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Samantha Iyengar Associate Director New York City (212) 345-3788 samantha.iyengar@nera.com
Erin B. McHugh Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8736
+1 212 345 2990
erin.mchugh@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Ralph Meghames Associate Director Paris
Milan
+33 1 70 75 01 89
+39 02 305771
ralph.meghames@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Jonathan S. Polonsky Associate Director Chicago
New York City
+1 312 573 2801
+1 212 345 4067
jonathan.polonsky@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+39 345 6986539
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
Dr. Albert Bremser Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 al.bremser@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 7659 8818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@nera.com
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@nera.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant London +44 20 76 59 85 74 Zuzana.Janeckova@nera.com
Gary Napadov Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2850 Gary.Napadov@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Senior Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Philippe Fromenteau Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 96 philippe.fromenteau@nera.com
Philipp Kröger Consultant Berlin +49 30 70 01506 11 philipp.kroeger@nera.com
Patricio Suarez Urtaza Consultant London
Frankfurt
+44 (0)20 7659 8500
+49 (69) 710447500
patricio.suarez@nera.com
Jim Yin Consultant London +44 20 7659 8814 jim.yin@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 3769 1096
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexander Voegele Affiliated Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 501 alexander.voegele.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
GAR Commercial Arbitration 2021: Measuring Economic Damages with Maximum Certainty Book By Julie M. Carey, Dr. Christian Dippon, and Dr. Will Taylor
NERA Experts Explore the Market or Comparables Approach Book By Dr. Richard Hern, Zuzana Janeckova, Yue (Jim) Yin and Konstantinos Bivolaris
Damages in the Middle East and Africa: Trends from Recent Cases and Some Challenges Published Article By Dr. Fabrizio Hernández, Timothy McKenna, and Ralph Meghames
International Arbitration White Paper Series White Paper
The Quantification of Damages in Financial Services Disputes Book By Erin B. McHugh and Robert Patton
Financier Worldwide International Arbitration 2021 – Exceptional Experts Published Article Dr. Christian Dippon
COVID-19 and the Next Wave of Business Disputes White Paper By Marco Schönborn, Mark L. Berenblut, et al.
Short Selling: To Ban or Not to Ban? White Paper Erin B. McHugh and Eugene Ng
NERA Expert Erin B. McHugh Offers Economic Insights in the Latest Investment Treaty A... Book Erin B. McHugh
GAR Commercial Arbitration 2020: Measuring Economic Damages with Maximum Certainty Published Article Julie M. Carey, Dr. Christian Dippon, and Dr. Will Taylor