International Arbitration

International arbitration is fast becoming the preferred method of resolving cross-border disputes of all types. Over the last decade, the number of international arbitration proceedings has grown dramatically -- and so too has the complexity and value of those disputes, which often require increasingly sophisticated economic analysis and advice.

NERA’s international arbitration experts are recognized leaders in providing the level of economic support required in today’s arbitration cases. Drawing on decades of extensive litigation experience, combined with deep expertise in regulated and competitive markets, our economists have helped law firms and companies navigate a wide range of disputes in various arbitration venues.

We have a reputation for objectivity and independent economic and financial analyses and expert reports. Our team of experts has conducted numerous damage and compensation analyses using sophisticated financial modeling techniques; interpreted regulatory decisions; valued contractual rights; and determined the expropriatory impact of government decisions on specific investments. NERA experts have testified in arbitration proceedings under all of the major institutional and procedural rules, including:

  • International Chamber of Commerce
  • International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
  • London Court of International Arbitration
  • American Arbitration Association

We also have substantial industry-based and regional institutional experience, including:

  • Financial Industry Regulatory Authority
  • Japan Commercial Arbitration Association
  • Lands Tribunal
  • New York Stock Exchange
  • National Association of Securities Dealers
  • Vienna International Arbitral Centre of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber
Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
London
Milan
+34 91 521 00 20
+44 20 76 59 85 00
+39 02 305771
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Managing Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
George Anstey Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director Miami
New York City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
jorge.baez@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
William P. Hrycay Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 1518 william.hrycay@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Erin B. McHugh Associate Director London
New York City
+44 20 7659 8736
+1 212 345 2990
erin.mchugh@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Robert Patton Associate Director Toronto
London
New York City
+1 416 868 7318
+44 20 7659 8620
+1 212 345 3269
robert.patton@nera.com
Dr. Chris Stomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9219 chris.stomberg@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 76598818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@NERA.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant London +44 20 76 59 85 74 Zuzana.Janeckova@nera.com
Ralph Meghames Principal Paris
Milan
+33 1 70 75 01 89
+39 02 305771
ralph.meghames@nera.com
Jonathan S. Polonsky Senior Consultant Chicago
New York City
+1 312 573 2801
+1 212 345 4067
jonathan.polonsky@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+44 20 76 59 85 86
+39 342 0636953
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Clara Segurola Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8606 clara.segurola@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Jordan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9263 james.jordan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 rjmackay26@gmail.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alexander Voegele Affiliated Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 501 alexander.voegele.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
NERA Experts Bring Economic Insights to the Latest Investment Treaty Arbitration Revi... Book Dr. Chudozie Okongwu, Erin B. McHugh, Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr Laura T.W. Olive
Measuring Economic Damages with Maximum Certainty Book Julie M. Carey, Dr. Christian Dippon, Dr. William S. Taylor
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2018 Full-Year Review Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
NERA Experts Discuss Recent Developments in Resolving Financial Services Disputes Thr... Book Chapter authored by Dr. Chudozie Okongwu. Edited by John A. Trenor.
Gas Wars in Ukraine Illustrate Europe’s Vulnerability to Russian Energy Dominance Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, et al.
NERA Experts Contribute to Latest Investment Treaty Arbitration Review Book Dr. Chudozie Okongwu, Erin B. McHugh, Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Damages in Financial Services Arbitrations in GAR’s Second Edition of The Guide to Da... Book Edited by John A. Trenor
An Economic Assessment of Contracts in International Arbitration Published Article by Willis Geffert & Bastian Gottschling
The Guide to Damages in International Arbitration Book Edited by John A. Trenor
International Arbitration in Regulated and Related Businesses: Why Hire Economists? Brief By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr. Michael Rosenzweig, and Graham Shuttleworth with former NERA Vice President Dr. Leonardo Giacchino