Consumer Financial Services

NERA's economists have extensive experience with consumer financial services issues. Bank and non-bank consumer financial services providers rely on NERA to provide expert analysis, testimony, and advisory services in the following contexts:

  • Litigation
  • Enforcement actions
  • Supervisory examinations
  • Regulatory analysis

Our deep practical expertise cuts across the financial services industry, including banking, servicing, credit cards, money transmitter, payday loans, mortgage origination and securitization, and investment products. Many of NERA's economists have direct regulatory experience, having held key positions at government agencies including the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, the Federal Trade Commission, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the President's Council of Economic Advisers. Outside of the public sector, NERA experts have held senior positions at some of the world's leading financial and advisory companies.

We combine an authoritative understanding of the relevant laws and regulations with the industry's leading experience in producing highly rigorous and objective economic analysis.

In the area of consumer financial services, NERA experts have experience with:

  • Allegations of unfair, deceptive, or abusive acts or practices (UDAAP) and unfair or deceptive acts or practices (UDAP)
  • Analysis of transactional deposit account, consumer loan, and servicing data
  • Fair lending
  • Assisting with preparation of responses to NORA Notices, PARR Letters, and Civil Investigative Demands (CID)
  • Disputes between financial services providers and vendors
  • Allegations of excessive mortgage and credit card fees
  • TILA disclosures
  • Analysis related to restitution
  • Analysis of antitrust issues in relation to payments infrastructure
  • Economic analysis, both theoretical and empirical, of consumer financial protection regulations and policy
Name Title Location Phone Email
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5409 lingling.ang@nera.com
Jorge Baez Associate Director Miami
New York City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
jorge.baez@nera.com
Drew Claxton Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 3442 drew.claxton@nera.com
Timothy McKenna Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5503 timothy.mckenna@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Dr. William S. Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2842 ignacio.franceschelli@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. J. Howard Beales, III Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 703 346 1290 hbeales@gwu.edu
Dr. James Overdahl Affiliated Industry Expert Washington, DC +1 202 547 3035 joverdahl@deltastrat.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 rjmackay26@gmail.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Recent Trends in US Securities Class Action Litigation: H1 2019 Update Report Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 2019 Update Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2018 Update Report Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2018 Full-Year Review Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q3 2018 Update Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: H1 2018 Update Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Jordan Milev, Trevor Wagener, et. al.
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 2018 Update Published Article By Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2017 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton