Financial Institutions and Banking

The credit crisis has had profound consequences for financial market participants, precipitating bank failures, litigation, and regulatory reform. Institutions with subprime exposures remain embroiled in litigation, but problems for financial institutions and banks went beyond subprime finance to affect their wider operations. Some directors and officers at the helm of institutions that failed now face FDIC suits. More generally, changes in regulation and supervision of financial services are affecting institutions across the board. Complying with these new regulations requires significant changes in the way financial services firms operate.

NERA works with financial institutions in both litigation and business contexts, providing economic and financial consulting and expert testimony. Our finance experts have had hands-on experience working at government regulatory bodies such as the Federal Reserve, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the International Monetary Fund, and the President’s Working Group on Financial Markets. NERA experts have also worked for leading financial services firms, including Bank of America, Barclays, Banque Paribas, CS First Boston, Morgan Stanley, and Merrill Lynch. NERA’s experience and expertise make the firm a leader in the core capabilities that are critical to helping financial institutions operate in the new competitive environment and manage emerging regulatory and enforcement challenges.
  
NERA assists with issues surrounding:

  • Risk management practices
  • Valuation of financial products including complex derivatives and securities, regulatory examinations and investigations
  • FDIC professional liability litigation against failed bank directors and officers
  • Securities litigation
  • Complex commercial disputes
  • Forensic accounting, including proper application of accounting rules
  • Bankruptcy

We provide advice and training, including design and implementation of models needed to comply with rules and regulations, assessments of business lines and functions before regulatory examinations, and assistance to firms in responding to examinations.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Tsvetan Beloreshki Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5409 tsvetan.beloreshki@nera.com
Dr. Patrick Conroy Managing Director Miami
New York City
+305 341 5025
+1 212 345 1466
patrick.conroy@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 10
+32 2 282 4340
tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director Miami +1 305 808 7880 denise.martin@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Director Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Jorge Baez Director Miami
New York City
Mexico City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
+52 55 9628 7550
jorge.baez@nera.com
Ralph Meghames Associate Director Paris
Milan
+33 1 70 75 01 89
+39 02 305771
ralph.meghames@nera.com
Amanda Pletz Associate Director London
Paris
Geneva
+44 20 7659 8528
+33 1 70 75 01 85
+41 22 819 94 94
amanda.pletz@nera.com
Gary Napadov Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2850 gary.napadov@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 sharon.hruska.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2022 Update White Paper Mary Elizabeth Stern and Lucy Allen
Securities Class Action Trends: H1 2022 Update Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2021 Update White Paper Bradley A. Heys, Robert Patton, Jielei Mao
Structured ETFs White Paper Timothy McKenna, Dr. Airat Chanyshev, and Cinnie Lin
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2021 Full-Year Review Report Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
How Would "Amount A" Affect US Corporate Income Tax Revenue? Published Article Vladimir Starkov and Alexis Jin
NERA Experts Contribute Chapter to "The Future of the Profit Split Method" Book Dr. Harlow Higginbotham and Dr. Vladimir Starkov
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2020 Update Report Bradley A. Heys, Robert Patton, and Jielei Mao
Transfer Pricing Roundtable in Financier Worldwide. Expert QA Dr. Vladimir Starkov and Philip de Homont
Amount B: Facts and Circumstances Matter—Even for Routine Distributors Published Article Dr. Harlow Higinbotham, Dr. Niraja Srinivasan, and Dr. Vladimir Starkov