Securities and Finance

Broker/Customer Disputes

Broker/Customer Disputes

Brokers and investment advisors have duties under the law to know their customers' investment needs and tolerance for risk. Often when investors lose money, they consider whether investments made by their advisor or recommendations made by their broker were appropriate. For more than two decades, our economists have been called upon to render opinions in disputes between investors and their broker-dealers, investment advisors and fund managers. NERA experts have provided analyses supporting investors and brokers for use in arbitration and the courtroom. Our work has focused both on liability, examining allegations such as unsuitability and churning, and damages, measuring how much investors might have earned under an alternative investment strategy. Our expertise with financial theory and experience with various trading strategies and instruments allows us to put ourselves in the shoes of parties while the investment decisions were being made in order to better focus on whether the trading practices at issue were appropriate.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Managing Director San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1009
+1 415 291 1009
+1 416 868 7314
alan.cox@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Chudozie Okongwu Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 5003
+44 20 7659 8568
chudozie.okongwu@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5409 lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 rjmackay26@gmail.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Recent Trends in US Securities Class Action Litigation: H1 2019 Update Report Janeen McIntosh and Svetlana Starykh
Fair Value, Transaction Price, and Common Equity Price in Delaware Appraisal Litigati... Published Article William P. Hrycay
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 2019 Update Report Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh
An Introduction to Economic Approaches to Damages in a Japanese Context Published Article Ling Ling Ang, et al.
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Jordan Milev, Trevor Wagener, et. al.
Recent Trends in Virtual Currency Regulation, Enforcement, and Litigation White Paper Trevor Wagener, et. al
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2017 Update Report By Bradley A. Heys and Robert Patton
What Does the CFPB Complaint Database Tell Us About the Quality of Servicing of Stude... White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Dr. Ignacio Franceschelli, and David Cen
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: 2017 Full-Year Review White Paper By. Stefan Boettrich and Svetlana Starykh