Securities and Finance

Broker/Customer Disputes

Broker/Customer Disputes

Brokers and investment advisors have duties under the law to know their customers' investment needs and tolerance for risk. Often when investors lose money, they consider whether investments made by their advisor or recommendations made by their broker were appropriate. For more than two decades, our economists have been called upon to render opinions in disputes between investors and their broker-dealers, investment advisors and fund managers. NERA experts have provided analyses supporting investors and brokers for use in arbitration and the courtroom. Our work has focused both on liability, examining allegations such as unsuitability and churning, and damages, measuring how much investors might have earned under an alternative investment strategy. Our expertise with financial theory and experience with various trading strategies and instruments allows us to put ourselves in the shoes of parties while the investment decisions were being made in order to better focus on whether the trading practices at issue were appropriate.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Vinita Juneja Managing Director
Chair of NERA's White Collar, Investigations and Enforcement Practice
New York City
London
Toronto
+1 212 345 3148
+44 20 7659 8618
+1 416 868 7314
vinita.juneja@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Faten Sabry Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Securities and Finance Practice
Bankruptcy Practice Chair
New York City
London
+1 212 345 3285
+44 20 7659 8618
faten.sabry@nera.com
Dr. David Tabak Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 2176 david.tabak@nera.com
Adam Warren Managing Director Chicago +1 (312) 573-2821 adam.warren@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Jordan Milev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 5516 jordan.milev@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Plancich Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7719 stephanie.plancich@nera.com
Gary Lambert Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 7659 8652 gary.lambert@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Mark L. Berenblut Affiliated Consultant Toronto
New York City
London
+1 416 868 7311
+1 917 475 0020
+44 20 7659 8644
mark.berenblut.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Carron Affiliated Consultant New York City
London
+1 212 345 5407
+44 20 7659 8500
andrew.carron.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Robert Mackay Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9291 rjmackay26@gmail.com
Dr. Marcia Kramer Mayer Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 2196 marcia.mayer.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
How COVID-19 Impact Analysis May Shape MAE Disputes Published Article Dr. David Tabak and Edward Flores
COVID-19, MAEs, and Preliminary Evidence of Disproportionate Impacts Within Industrie... Brief Dr. David Tabak and Edward Flores
Corruption and Fraud in Financial Markets: Malpractice, Misconduct, and Manipulation Book Dr. Ai Deng, et at.
Hey Google: When Did People Stop Going to Work? White Paper By Dr. Faten Sabry, Linh Nguyen, and Aakash Bhalothia
Economic and Financial Analyses in Australian Securities Litigation in the Wake of TP... White Paper Dr. David Tabak and Dr. Will Taylor
S&P 500 Index: Daily Price Movements Brief Dr. David Tabak and Edward Flores
Recent Trends in Securities Class Action Litigation: Q1 2020 Update White Paper Janeen McIntosh.and Svetlana Starykh
How Are Different Types of Stocks Weathering COVID-19? Published Article By Dr. Jordan Milev
Analyzing Value Changes between Signing and Closing in Delaware Appraisal Actions White Paper Jonathan Polonsky
Trends in Canadian Securities Class Actions: 2019 Update Report Bradley A. Heys, Robert Patton, Jielei Mao