Transfer Pricing

Cost Sharing Arrangements

Cost Sharing Arrangements

Although cost-sharing arrangements have been used by multinational companies (MNCs) as part of tax planning strategies for years, recent regulatory developments have subjected cost-sharing arrangements to intense scrutiny. These developments include a major reformulation by the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS) of the 1995 cost-sharing regulations in January 2009; OECD ongoing revision of guidance on business restructuring; and the introduction by the German tax authorities of aggressive regulations related to valuing transfers of functions or risks in 2005. 

Under these new regulations, certain intercompany transfers of intangibles—broadly defined as transfers of any profit-driving assets and capabilities—may have to be valued under a framework where all of the benefits from the transferred intangibles, including the benefits from subsequent development of these intangibles, accrue to the original intangibles developer.

NERA's experts assist clients in addressing the new requirements of these regulatory pronouncements and in adapting the valuations applied for existing arrangements and restructuring transactions to the new valuation paradigms.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Yves Hervé Managing Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 508 yves.herve@nera.com
Dr. Harlow Higinbotham Managing Director Chicago +1 312 573 2803
+86 21 6103 5544
+86 10 6533 4395
harlow.higinbotham@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Managing Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Philip de Homont Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 502 philip.de.homont@nera.com
Dr. Niraja Srinivasan Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9290 niraja.srinivasan@nera.com
Dr. Vladimir Starkov Director Chicago +1 312 573 2806 vladimir.starkov@nera.com
Nihan Mert-Beydilli Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3035 nihan.mert.beydilli@nera.com
Tom Braukmann Principal Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 511 tom.braukmann@nera.com
Alexis Jin Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 4804 alexis.jin@nera.com
Dr. Alexander Voegele Affiliated Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 501 alexander.voegele.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Transfer Pricing Solutions for Intragroup Shared Services White Paper Dr. Niraja Srinivasan and Nihan Mert-Beydilli
‘Coca-Cola’ vs. Section 482: Is It Time to Refresh the Regulatory Guidance? Published Article Dr. Harlow Higinbotham and Dr. Niraja Srinivasan
The Future of Transfer Pricing Published Article Niraja Srinivasan, et al.
Entretien de Juliette Ansart dans Dauphinews Published Article by Juliette Ansart
Going digital multinationals: Navigating economic and social imperatives in a post-pa... Published Article Niraja Srinivasan, et al.
NERA Experts Contribute Chapter to "The Future of the Profit Split Method" Book Dr. Harlow Higginbotham and Dr. Vladimir Starkov
Transfer Pricing Roundtable in Financier Worldwide. Expert QA Dr. Vladimir Starkov and Philip de Homont
Amount B: Facts and Circumstances Matter—Even for Routine Distributors Published Article Dr. Harlow Higinbotham, Dr. Niraja Srinivasan, Dr. Vladimir Starkov, and Nihan Mert-Beydilli
Dr. Yves Hervé’s Interview in Financier Worldwide Dr. Yves Hervé
Taxation of the Digital Economy: Analysing User Base Value Published Article Dr. Yves Hervé and Philip de Homont