Communications, Media, and Internet

NERA's Communications, Media, and Internet experts are global leaders in applying economic expertise to critical challenges faced by private and public entities in the telecommunications, media, and postal sectors. With deep industry knowledge and unparalleled experience, our experts specialize in:

  • Regulation and public policy – NERA's experts have extensive experience in regulatory design of wholesale and retail markets, assessing the impact of regulatory decisions on market outcomes, and resolving complex regulatory challenges, often brought on by the convergence of the telecommunications and media sectors. We help clients understand the key regulatory issues and the implications for their businesses, devise appropriate regulatory strategies, and inform the regulatory decision-making process.
  • Antitrust and business litigation – Our telecommunications, media, and internet economists have an unmatched reputation for highly defensible analysis, based on rigorous economics and quantitative methods, and grounded in a thorough understanding of the industry, market forces, and the facts of the case. We work with our clients at all stages of competition and litigation matters, ranging from pre-merger analyses and pre-complaint counseling through discovery, direct and rebuttal testimonies, cross-examination, and oral testimony.
  • Spectrum management – NERA's experts are also at the forefront of integrating economics into spectrum management decisions. We are deeply involved in spectrum pricing, allocation, trading, and refarming efforts ongoing around the globe.
  • Auctions – Our team has an exceptional track record on advising government sellers and private buyers in spectrum auctions around the world. We also advise on auctions of other communications assets, such as broadcast licenses, sports rights, and corporate asset transfers.

Our team includes economists who have worked for broadcasters, mobile network operators, telcos, and postal providers, and for academic institutions and regulatory agencies around the world. We often work with interdisciplinary teams of engineering, finance, and legal experts. Our experience and reach is global, with experts based in Europe, Australia, Asia, and North America working on telecommunications issues throughout the world.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Richard J. Eichmann Managing Director San Francisco
Los Angeles
+1 415 291 1033
+1 213 346 3009
richard.eichmann@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Emmanuel Llinares Managing Director
Head of Global Transfer Pricing
Paris
Geneva
London
+33 1 70 75 01 93
+41 22 819 94 94
+44 20 7659 8650
emmanuel.llinares@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Kristopher Boushie Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9228 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Associate Director Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. C.-Philipp Heller Associate Director Berlin
London
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 94
+44 20 7659 8500
+32 2 282 4340
philipp.heller@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7044 hans.ihle@nera.com
Dr. Robert Kulick Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@nera.com
Dr. Hector Lopez Associate Director Washington, DC
Mexico City
+1 202 466 9296
+52 55 9628 7594
hector.lopez@nera.com
Dr. Craig Malam Associate Director San Francisco
Sydney
+1 415 291 1035
+61 2 8864 7136
craig.malam@nera.com
Dr. Soren Tang Sorensen Associate Director London +44 7775 018622 soren.sorensen@nera.com
Dr. Bruno Soria Associate Director Madrid
Milan
Brussels
+34 91 212 64 00
+39 02 30577800
+32 2 282 4340
bruno.soria@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Stivers Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.stivers@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Anca Cojoc Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 7659 8798 anca.cojoc@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 7659 8818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@nera.com
Dr. Matthew Hoelle Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9279 matthew.hoelle@nera.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 76 59 85 74 zuzana.janeckova@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Andrew Card Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.card@nera.com
Dr. J. Howard Beales, III Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 703 346 1290 hbeales@gwu.edu
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Title Type Author
Economics of Air Traffic Management in the Drone Era White Paper By Dr. Hector Lopez and Richard Marsden
Collaboration and Combination Due to 5G: Unlocking Investment or Reducing Competition... Published Article Dr. Will Taylor and Adrien Cervera-Jackson
The Role of Economics on the Road to Autonomous Vehicles and Digital Mobility White Paper Daniel Hanson, Richard Eichmann, Richard Marsden, George Anstey, Grant Saggers, Dr. Garrett Glasgow, Dr. C-Philipp Heller, Dr. Hector Lopez, Dr. Bruno Soria, Dr. Will Taylor, and Adam Rhoten
GAR Commercial Arbitration 2021: Measuring Economic Damages with Maximum Certainty Book By Julie M. Carey, Dr. Christian Dippon, and Dr. Will Taylor
Financier Worldwide International Arbitration 2021 – Exceptional Experts Published Article Dr. Christian Dippon
Schadensermittlung für Bußgeld- und Schadenersatzverfahren nach DSGVO White Paper Dominik Hübler, Dr. Adjmal Sirak, and Philipp Hiemann
GAR Commercial Arbitration 2020: Measuring Economic Damages with Maximum Certainty Published Article Julie M. Carey, Dr. Christian Dippon, and Dr. Will Taylor
Improving Mobile Coverage in Mature Markets White Paper By Hans-Martin Ihle and Dr. Will Taylor
Economic Impacts of Mobile Broadband Innovation: Evidence from the Transition to 4G Working Paper Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach and Dr. Robert Kulick
International Price Comparisons: An Area of Further Research Published Article Dr. Christian Dippon