Survey Research, Design, and Analysis

Survey Research and Design in Product Liability

Survey Research and Design in Product Liability

NERA economists use quantitative research, choice models and other survey techniques to reach conclusions in a range of disputed issues -- such as market definition, claiming rates and product defects analysis in mass torts, claimed theft of trade secrets and Lanham Act claims of alleged trademark infringement or false advertising. Our surveys can help identify how consumers choose among service or product configurations, which attributes sway purchase decisions or whether certain names or designs have achieved meaning in the marketplace.

Our expert statisticians and economists combine a deep knowledge of sampling techniques, survey administration and analyzing complex sets of data with a firm grounding in econometric principles and practice. NERA consultants help clients in industries including automotive, healthcare, entertainment, consumer products, software and food products, among others. Our work ranges from short-deadline sampling assignments and constructive critiques of existing surveys to rigorous survey projects that successfully resolve multimillion-dollar lawsuits.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Lucy P. Allen Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5913 lucy.allen@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Denise Neumann Martin Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5296 denise.martin@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Melissa Pittaoulis Associate Director Philadelphia +1 215 864 3879 melissa.pittaoulis@nera.com
Healey Whitsett Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9202 healey.whitsett@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 7500 444 720 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Kent Van Liere Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 kent.vanliere@vanliereconsulting.com
Title Type Author
Survey Response Bias and the ‘Privacy Paradox’ Published Article Sarah Butler, Dr. Garrett Glasgow, and Dr. Samantha Iyengar
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2018 Update White Paper Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Use of Sample Surveys in Product Liability Litigation Published Article By Dr. Kent Van Liere
Economics of Antitrust: Complex Issues In a Dynamic Economy Book Edited by Dr. Lawrence Wu
Economic Approaches to Intellectual Property Policy, Litigation, and Management Book Edited by Dr. Lauren Stiroh et al.
Rigorous Surveys for More Accurate IP Damages Published Article By Dr. Alan Cox
Customers' Choice Among Retail Energy Suppliers: The Willingness to Pay for Service A... Published Article By Dr. Kenneth Train with AAG Associates Andrew Goett and Kathleen Hudson
Using Surveys to Evaluate the Effect of Non-Infringing Alternatives on Patent Infring... Brief By Dr. Lawrence Wu