Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin +49 30 700 1506 10 tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, Environment Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
George Anstey Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3290 hans.ihle@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Jorge Sanz Associate Director Madrid +34 912 126 440 jorge.sanz@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
Dr. Albert Bremser Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 al.bremser@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Senior Consultant/Principal Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Dr. Wonjun Chang Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 Wonjun.Chang@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 76598818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@NERA.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant London +44 20 76 59 85 74 Zuzana.Janeckova@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Katie Orlandi Senior Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3031 Kathleen.Orlandi@nera.com
Marcelo Rabinovich Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 marcelo.rabinovich@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
London
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+44 20 76 59 85 86
+39 342 0636953
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Julia C. Williams Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 julia.williams@nera.com
Edward Mills Consultant London Tel: +44 20 7659 8820 edward.mills@nera.com
Francisco Alvarez Consultant Madrid Tel: +34 91 212 64 00 Francisco.Alvarez@nera.com
Ambrus Barany Consultant London +44 20 7659 8894 ambrus.barany@nera.com
Soren Christian Consultant London +44 20 7659 8760 soren.christian@nera.com
Dr. Clemens Koenig Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 4475 12 clemens.koenig@nera.com
Philipp Kroeger Consultant Berlin +49 30 70 01506 11 philipp.kroeger@nera.com
Max Luke Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4506 max.luke@nera.com
Rachel Northcutt Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9297 rachel.northcutt@nera.com
Bharat Ramkrishnan Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9246 Bharat.Ramkrishnan@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Lorenz Wieshammer Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 32 lorenz.wieshammer@nera.com
Dr. Carlo Scarpa Affiliated Academic +39 06 488 8101 carlo.scarpa@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 7500 444 720 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Challenge of Measuring Pipelines’ GHG Footprints Published Article Dr. David Harrison, Jr.
The Grid Mod Squad: Investors, Ratepayers, and Regulators White Paper Dr. Laura T. W. Olive and Max Luke
Monkey-Wrenching Natural Gas Pipelines Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
A RAB Model for New Nuclear Power Plants: The Economics of Investment Incentives Published Article By Sean Gammons, George Anstey, and Richard Druce
Mexican Wholesale Electricity Market Report 2019 Report By Veronica Irastorza and José Antonio Peñuelas
Crude Exports, Gas Imports Possible Development Path for Mexico Published Article Veronica Irastorza and John B. McNeece III
Prudence: Under Strain in California Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
The Cost of Equity for German Energy Networks – Implications of the Federal Supreme C... Published Article By Tomas Haug and Lorenz Wieshammer
Why Publitize? Part II: When Public Ownership Gained Ground in the US Electricity Ind... Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
NERA Experts Bring Economic Insights to the Latest Investment Treaty Arbitration Revi... Book Dr. Chudozie Okongwu, Erin B. McHugh, Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr Laura T.W. Olive