Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. David Harrison Jr. Managing Director
Co-Chair, NERA's Global Environmental Economics Practice
Boston +1 617 927 4512 david.harrison@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 10
+32 2 282 4340
tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Managing Director
Co-Chair, NERA’s Global Environmental Economics Practice
Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
George Anstey Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Associate Director Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7044 hans.ihle@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 55 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Katie Orlandi Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3031 kathleen.orlandi@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Marcelo Rabinovich Associate Director Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 marcelo.rabinovich@nera.com
Jorge Sanz Associate Director Madrid +34 912 126 440 jorge.sanz@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+39 342 0636953
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Ambrus Barany Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8894 ambrus.barany@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
Dr. Albert Bremser Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 al.bremser@nera.com
Dr. Wonjun Chang Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 Wonjun.Chang@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 7659 8818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@nera.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant London +44 20 76 59 85 74 Zuzana.Janeckova@nera.com
Dr. Clemens Koenig Senior Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 4475 12 clemens.koenig@nera.com
Max Luke Senior Consultant Boston +1 617 927 4506 max.luke@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Julia C. Williams Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 julia.williams@nera.com
Francisco Alvarez Consultant Madrid Tel: +34 91 212 64 00 Francisco.Alvarez@nera.com
Adriana Linares Consultant London +44 20 7659 8816 adriana.linares@nera.com
Soren Christian Consultant London +44 20 7659 8760 soren.christian@nera.com
Niko Czaplicki Consultant Frankfurt niko.czaplicki@nera.com
Michael Dawes Consultant London +44 20 7659 8582 michael.dawes@nera.com
Philipp Kröger Consultant Berlin +49 30 70 01506 11 philipp.kroeger@nera.com
Robert Lauer Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 75 robert.lauer@nera.com
Magnus Martinsen Consultant London +44 20 7659 8730 Magnus.Martinsen@nera.com
Rachel Northcutt Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9297 rachel.northcutt@nera.com
Bharat Ramkrishnan Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9246 Bharat.Ramkrishnan@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Patricio Suarez Urtaza Consultant London
Frankfurt
+44 (0)20 7659 8500
+49 (69) 710447500
patricio.suarez@nera.com
Lorenz Wieshammer Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 32 lorenz.wieshammer@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Texas Energy Debacle and the Economists Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Mexico’s Attempted Electricity Reform 2021: A Threat to Investors White Paper Veronica Irastorza and José Antonio Peñuelas
Implications of the New Hydrogen Grids Bill for Germany and Beyond Published Article Dominik Huebler, Lorenz Wieshammer, Leonie Janisch, and Paul Waidelich
Regulatory Cost of Capital – New Data to Answer Old Questions Published Article Tomas Haug, Lorenz Wieshammer, Paul Waidelich, and Jakob Lutz
International Energy Regulation: A Tale of Two Standards Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
US-Mexico Forum 2025: Energy and Sustainability Report Veronica Irastorza, et. al.
The Once and (Perhaps) Future Argentine Electricity Market Published Article Veronica Irastorza, Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, and Hamish Fraser
Ground Zero for German Grid Regulation? Published Article Tomas Haug, Dominik Huebler, and Lorenz Wieshammer
Mexican Electricity Wholesale Market Report 2020 Report Veronica Irastorza and José Antonio Peñuelas
The Role of Cost-Reflective Distribution Tariffs and Flexibility Contracts in Support... White Paper By Richard Druce, George Anstey, Dr. Laura T.W. Olive, Dr. Will Taylor, and Leen Dickx