Energy

NERA's Energy Practice is at the forefront of the continuing transformation of the energy industries worldwide. We have pioneered in developing approaches for introducing competition in segments such as power generation and gas supply where competition is workable and for improving the regulation of sectors where it is not. We work with companies, governmental bodies, and regulators worldwide to design competitive gas and electricity markets and to develop tariffs and rules of access for regulated transmission and distribution systems for electricity, gas, and the transport of oil and oil products.

With industry restructuring in many countries, we also help companies develop strategies for exploring new opportunities and minimizing new risks, including issues related to climate change and other environmental initiatives. We help our clients to develop new regulatory strategies and, when needed, support our clients with analysis and testimony before regulatory commissions, antitrust and competition policy agencies, and domestic and international courts.

Our economists help clients to decide which lines of business to pursue; to divest assets no longer consistent with their strategy; to identify and evaluate opportunities for mergers, acquisitions, and investment; and to develop bidding, trading, contracting, and marketing organizations and strategies. Our work also includes designing and conducting energy auctions, as well as providing strategy and valuation advice on mergers and acquisitions, the financing of energy companies, and the financial restructuring of distressed companies.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sandra Ringelstetter Ennis Chief Operating Officer
Managing Director
Chicago +1 312 573 2823 sandra.ringelstetter@nera.com
George Anstey Managing Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Oscar Arnedillo Managing Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 oscar.arnedillo@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Managing Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 10
+32 2 282 4340
tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
Richard Marsden Managing Director New York City
London
+1 212 345 3000
+44 20 7659 8618
richard.marsden@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director Washington, DC +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Vakhtang Kvekvetsia Director London +44 20 7659 8746 vakhtang.kvekvetsia@nera.com
Scott J. Bloomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9234 scott.bloomberg@nera.com
Dr. Albert Bremser Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9222 al.bremser@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Associate Director Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
James Grayburn Associate Director London +44 20 7659 8572 james.grayburn@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Hans-Martin Ihle Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7044 hans.ihle@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Katie Orlandi Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3031 kathleen.orlandi@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Marcelo Rabinovich Associate Director Madrid +34 91 212 64 00 marcelo.rabinovich@nera.com
Jorge Sanz Associate Director Madrid +34 912 126 440 jorge.sanz@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+39 345 6986539
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Sugandha D. Tuladhar Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9206 sugandha.tuladhar@nera.com
Dr. Stefan Berger Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 212 64 42 stefan.berger@nera.com
Soren Christian Senior Consultant London +44 20 7659 8760 soren.christian@nera.com
Leen Dickx Senior Consultant/Principal London
Milan
+44 20 7659 8818
+39 345 2832326
leen.dickx@nera.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 76 59 85 74 zuzana.janeckova@nera.com
Dr. Clemens Koenig Senior Consultant Frankfurt +49 69 710 4475 12 clemens.koenig@nera.com
Marta Moro Senior Consultant Madrid +34 91 521 0020 marta.moro@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Senior Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Lorenz Wieshammer Senior Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 32 lorenz.wieshammer@nera.com
Julia C. Williams Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9233 julia.williams@nera.com
Francisco Alvarez Consultant Madrid Tel: +34 91 212 64 00 francisco.alvarez@nera.com
Niko Czaplicki Consultant Frankfurt niko.czaplicki@nera.com
Dr. Michael Dawes Consultant London +44 20 7659 8582 michael.dawes@nera.com
Dr. Tuba Toru Delibasi Consultant London +44 20 7659 8732 tuba.delibasi@nera.com
Dr. Philippe Fromenteau Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 96 philippe.fromenteau@nera.com
Philipp Kröger Consultant Berlin +49 30 70 01506 11 philipp.kroeger@nera.com
Edward Lannan Consultant Washington, DC +1 (202) 4663510 edward.lannan@nera.com
Robert Lauer Consultant Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 75
+32 2 282 4340
robert.lauer@nera.com
Magnus Martinsen Consultant London +44 20 7659 8730 magnus.martinsen@nera.com
Rachel Northcutt Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9297 rachel.northcutt@nera.com
Ibrahim Ouf Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 ibrahim.ouf@nera.com
Bharat Ramkrishnan Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9246 bharat.ramkrishnan@nera.com
Dr. Federico Sciacca Consultant London +44 79 0667 2890 Federico.Sciacca@nera.com
Patricio Suarez Urtaza Consultant London +49 (69) 710447500 patricio.suarez@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Anne E. Smith Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9229 anne.smith@nera.com
Title Type Author
The 2021–22 European Gas Disaster: Was Reagan Right and Thatcher Wrong? Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Tackling “Transmission III”—Problems for the Renewable Generation Backlog White Paper Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Setting the Boundaries: Defining the Limits of Gas Market Areas White Paper George Anstey and Marco Schönborn
The Renewable Energy Supply Chain Problem: A New Geography of Power Supply and New Sp... White Paper Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
Germany’s Coalition Agreement—What’s in It for Transport and Digital Infrastructure I... Published Article Dominik Hübler and Philip vom Baur
Energy Retail in Great Britain: Moral Hazard and the Illusion of Competition Published Article George Anstey, Soren Christian, and Matthew Newell
Mexico’s Withdrawal from Gas and Electricity Markets Published Article By Dr. Jeff D. Makholm
The Road to Mexico’s Self-Sufficient Energy Reforms Published Article Dr. Jeff D. Makholm, Dr. José Antonio Peñuelas, and Hamish Fraser
German Efficiency Gone Wrong: Unintended Incentives Arising from the Gas TSOs’ Benchm... Published Article Tomas Haug and Lorenz Wieshammer
JUVE Handbook 2021–2022 Book Dominik Hübler