Energy

Energy Market Design

Energy Market Design

Designing and implementing efficient electricity markets is key to the success of restructuring efforts. If the rules governing such things as system operations, bidding, and contracting are not efficient and compatible, competition may be inhibited. Various institutional models have been proposed and implemented. As they are implemented, new problems and issues are being confronted, some of which have served to mitigate potential benefits sought through restructuring. As new power markets and power pools develop, the challenge to the industry is to determine how to best shape future marketplaces. A number of different issues must be considered, including:

  • Independence and governance of system operations;
  • Power system reliability and operations standards;
  • Energy bidding, ancillary services price determination and settlement procedures;
  • Transmission system access, congestion management, pricing and expansion;
  • Forward market development and contracting; and
  • Metering, billing and market information requirements.

NERA has an enormous amount of experience assisting utilities, independent power producers, and government entities with market design and implementation issues. We have been involved with the development of power pools and trading systems, in fact, virtually all of the power pools and independent system operators (or ISOs) throughout the world. We have also consulted on bilateral transactions and related issues and written and testified on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission’s Standard Market Design proposal.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
George Anstey Director London +44 20 7659 8630 george.anstey@nera.com
Benjamin Chee Director New York City +1 212 345 0091 benjamin.chee@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Dr. Juan Carlos Ortigas Associate Director Madrid +34 91 521 0020 juan.ortigas@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 7500 444 720 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Graham Shuttleworth Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8654 graham.shuttleworth.affiliate@nera.com