Antitrust and Competition

NERA economists employ economic theory and quantitative methods, grounded in a thorough understanding of the market, to provide a full range of theoretical and empirical economic analysis and testimony in matters involving mergers and acquisitions, antitrust litigation, and competition policy. We analyze the entire range of economic issues that arise in antitrust cases, including market definition, market dynamics, entry conditions, pricing, single firm conduct, agreements, and profitability. NERA's experts assess and, when appropriate, testify to the economic merits of allegations of anticompetitive mergers and acquisitions, foreclosure and exclusionary conduct (e.g., tying, bundling, and refusals to deal), horizontal and vertical restraints, monopolization and abuse of dominant position, and collusion. NERA's experts also have extensive experience estimating damages in antitrust matters, as well as assessing the appropriateness of class certification.

Clients value our reputation for objectivity, which is based on our expertise and insights from backgrounds in academia, business, and enforcement agencies, and our decades of experience working closely with antitrust and competition authorities around the world. Our experts are committed to a disciplined approach to economic analysis that produces unbiased, clear, and defensible findings. We understand the high stakes involved in our assignments and we take extraordinary measures to ensure our work is robust.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan Managing Director New York City
Los Angeles
+1 212 345 0745
+1 213 346 3038
subbu.ramanarayanan@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
George Anstey Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Jorge Baez Director Miami
New York City
Mexico City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
+52 55 9628 7550
jorge.baez@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Kristopher Boushie Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9228 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Fernando Jiménez Latorre Director Madrid +34 91 212 6440 fernando.jimenez@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth Newlon Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3019 elizabeth.newlon@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Paul Wong Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3026 paul.wong@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Associate Director Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Adrien Cervera-Jackson Associate Director London +44 73 8491 8124 adrien.cervera.jackson@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Associate Director Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Kate Foreman Associate Director San Francisco
Toronto
+1 415 291 1042
+1 416 868 7319
kate.foreman@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Dr. C.-Philipp Heller Associate Director Berlin
Frankfurt
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 94
+49 69 710 447 500
+32 2 282 4340
philipp.heller@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7043 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Dr. Robert Kulick Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@nera.com
Dr. Sheng Li Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4104 sheng.li@nera.com
Dr. Craig Malam Associate Director San Francisco
Sydney
+1 415 291 1035
+61 2 8864 7136
craig.malam@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. John Scalf Associate Director Chicago +1 312 573 2828 john.scalf@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Stivers Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.stivers@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Senior Consultant Houston +1 212 345 1343 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Dr. Anca Cojoc Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 7659 8798 anca.cojoc@nera.com
Dr. Jason Hong Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 3472 jason.hong@nera.com
Dr. Rasmus Jørgensen Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 (202) 466 9265 rasmus.jorgensen@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Heiner Lindenlaub Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 4251 heiner.lindenlaub@nera.com
Dr. Ildiko Magyari Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 6023 ildiko.magyari@nera.com
Dr. Gabriella Monahova Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9288 gabriella.monahova@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dr. Eishiro Takeda Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 6871 7046 eishiro.takeda@nera.com
Dr. Ivan Tasic Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2816 ivan.tasic@nera.com
Dr. Emily Walden Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9220 emily.walden@nera.com
Dr. Daniel Werner Senior Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1012 daniel.werner@nera.com
Dr. Claire Chunying Xie Senior Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4105 claire.xie@nera.com
Dr. Tomohiko Yano Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 6871 7045 tomohiko.yano@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Francesca Amore Consultant London
Milan
+44 207 659 8836
+39 023 057 7720
francesca.amore@nera.com
Claire Erba Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2853 claire.erba@nera.com
Emilie Feyler Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4052 emilie.feyler@nera.com
Dr. Philippe Fromenteau Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 96 philippe.fromenteau@nera.com
Lionel Gendebien Consultant London +44 078 4001 1263 lionel.gendebien@nera.com
Dr. Cristián Hernández Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9267 cristian.hernandez@nera.com
Brigid Jung Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7039 brigid.jung@nera.com
Robert Lauer Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 75 robert.lauer@nera.com
Dr. Taku Masuda Consultant Tokyo +81 3 6871 7047 taku.masuda@nera.com
Dr. Oliver März Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 73 oliver.maerz@nera.com
Dr. Veronica Postal Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4006 veronica.postal@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1041 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Cooper Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 james.cooper.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Sean Ennis Affiliated Academic Paris
London
+33 1 45 02 30 00
+44 20 7659 8500
sean.ennis.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Dr. Victor Goldberg Affiliated Academic New York City +1 212 345 3000 vpg@law.columbia.edu
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 thomas.mccarthy.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. David Nickerson Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 david.nickerson.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Jeffrey Prince Affiliated Academic New York City +1 (812) 320-1112 jeffrey.prince.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Bryan Tomlin Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 805 284 1811 bryan.tomlin@csuci.edu
Prof. Dr. Patrick Van Cayseele Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 01
+32 2 282 4340
patrick.van.cayseele_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Jon Wainwright Affiliated Consultant
Chicago
+1 512 383 4802
+1 312 573 2800
jon.wainwright.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Collaboration and Combination Due to 5G: Unlocking Investment or Reducing Competition... Published Article Dr. Will Taylor and Adrien Cervera-Jackson
The Role of Economics on the Road to Autonomous Vehicles and Digital Mobility White Paper Daniel Hanson, Richard Eichmann, Richard Marsden, George Anstey, Grant Saggers, Dr. Garrett Glasgow, Dr. C-Philipp Heller, Dr. Hector Lopez, Dr. Bruno Soria, Dr. Will Taylor, and Adam Rhoten
The Role of Rebates in the Pharmaceutical Industry Published Article Dr. Chris Stomberg
Monetary Remedies After High Court FTC Ruling Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Economic Aspects of the ‘50+1 Rule’ in German Football Published Article Dr. C.-Philipp Heller
German Federal Cartel Office Market Investigation of Electric Vehicle Charging Statio... Published Article Dominik Hübler, Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, et al.
Class Action Lawsuits: Opportunities to Apply Econometrics and Statistics Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Dr. John Scalf
The Two Sides of Platform Collusion White Paper Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel
Appointments for Vaccinations—Restoring Fairness and Avoiding Black Markets Published Article Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, Professor Rustamdjan Hakimov, Professor Dorothea Kübler and Professor Morimitsu Kurino
How to Avoid Black Markets for Appointments with Online Booking Systems Published Article Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, Professor Rustamdjan Hakimov, Professor Dorothea Kübler and Professor Morimitsu Kurino