Antitrust and Competition

NERA economists employ economic theory and quantitative methods, grounded in a thorough understanding of the market, to provide a full range of theoretical and empirical economic analysis and testimony in matters involving mergers and acquisitions, antitrust litigation, and competition policy. We analyze the entire range of economic issues that arise in antitrust cases, including market definition, market dynamics, entry conditions, pricing, single firm conduct, agreements, and profitability. NERA's experts assess and, when appropriate, testify to the economic merits of allegations of anticompetitive mergers and acquisitions, foreclosure and exclusionary conduct (e.g., tying, bundling, and refusals to deal), horizontal and vertical restraints, monopolization and abuse of dominant position, and collusion. NERA's experts also have extensive experience estimating damages in antitrust matters, as well as assessing the appropriateness of class certification.

Clients value our reputation for objectivity, which is based on our expertise and insights from backgrounds in academia, business, and enforcement agencies, and our decades of experience working closely with antitrust and competition authorities around the world. Our experts are committed to a disciplined approach to economic analysis that produces unbiased, clear, and defensible findings. We understand the high stakes involved in our assignments and we take extraordinary measures to ensure our work is robust.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
George Anstey Managing Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Managing Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 3000
brad.heys@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan Managing Director New York City
Los Angeles
+1 212 345 0745
+1 213 346 3038
subbu.ramanarayanan@nera.com
Grant Saggers Managing Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director Washington, DC +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Director Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Jorge Baez Director Miami
New York City
Mexico City
+1 305 341 5060
+1 212 345 5753
+52 55 9628 7550
jorge.baez@nera.com
Dr. David Blackburn Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9264 david.blackburn@nera.com
Kristopher Boushie Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9228 kristopher.boushie@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Fernando Jiménez Latorre Director Madrid +34 91 212 6440 fernando.jimenez@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth Newlon Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3019 elizabeth.newlon@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Paul Wong Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1030 paul.wong@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Associate Director Houston +1 212 345 1343 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Dr. Alexandre Carbonnel Associate Director Paris
Brussels
+33 1 70 75 01 60
+32 2 674 8815
alexandre.carbonnel@nera.com
Adrien Cervera-Jackson Associate Director London +44 73 8491 8124 adrien.cervera.jackson@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Associate Director Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Kate Foreman Associate Director Toronto +1 416 868 7319 kate.foreman@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dr. Alan Grant Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4097 alan.grant@nera.com
Dr. C.-Philipp Heller Associate Director Berlin
London
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 94
+44 20 7659 8500
+32 2 282 4340
philipp.heller@nera.com
Dr. Naoya Kaneko Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7043 naoya.kaneko@nera.com
Dr. Robert Kulick Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@nera.com
Dr. Gabriella Monahova Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9288 gabriella.monahova@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. John Scalf Associate Director Chicago +1 312 573 2828 john.scalf@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Stivers Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.stivers@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Dr. Emily Walden Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9220 emily.walden@nera.com
Dr. Daniel Werner Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1012 daniel.werner@nera.com
Dr. Claire Chunying Xie Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4105 claire.xie@nera.com
Dr. Tomohiko Yano Associate Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7045 tomohiko.yano@nera.com
Dr. Anca Cojoc Senior Consultant/Principal London +44 20 7659 8798 anca.cojoc@nera.com
Dr. Cristián Hernández Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9267 cristian.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Rasmus Jørgensen Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 (202) 466 9265 rasmus.jorgensen@nera.com
Robert Lauer Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 75
+32 2 282 4340
robert.lauer@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Heiner Lindenlaub Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 4251 heiner.lindenlaub@nera.com
Dr. Ildiko Magyari Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 6023 ildiko.magyari@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Dr. Eishiro Takeda Senior Consultant Tokyo +81 3 6871 7046 eishiro.takeda@nera.com
Dr. Ivan Tasic Senior Consultant Chicago +1 312 573 2816 ivan.tasic@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Francesca Amore Consultant London
Milan
+44 20 7659 8836
+39 023 057 7720
francesca.amore@nera.com
Emilie Feyler Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4052 emilie.feyler@nera.com
Gaurav Ganguly Consultant New York City +1 212 345 9379 gaurav.ganguly@nera.com
Brigid Jung Consultant New York City +1 212 345 7039 brigid.jung@nera.com
Dr. Taku Masuda Consultant Tokyo +81 3 6871 7047 taku.masuda@nera.com
Dr. Mark Ponder Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4061 mark.ponder@nera.com
Dr. Veronica Postal Consultant White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4006 veronica.postal@nera.com
Kaushal Vaddiraj Consultant Toronto
San Francisco
+1 416 868 7310
+1 415 291 1036
kaushal.vaddiraj@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Cooper Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 james.cooper.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Sean Ennis Affiliated Academic Paris
London
+33 1 45 02 30 00
+44 20 7659 8500
sean.ennis.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Lewis Evans Affiliated Academic Wellington +64 4 474 1320 lew.evans@vuw.ac.nz
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Thomas McCarthy Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 thomas.mccarthy.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. David Nickerson Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 david.nickerson.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Jeffrey Prince Affiliated Academic New York City +1 (812) 320-1112 jeffrey.prince.affiliate@nera.com
Emanuele Tarantino Affiliated Academic Berlin +49 30 700 1506 01 emanuele.tarantino.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Bryan Tomlin Affiliated Academic Los Angeles +1 805 284 1811 bryan.tomlin@csuci.edu
Prof. Dr. Patrick Van Cayseele Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 01
+32 2 282 4340
patrick.van.cayseele_affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
How The FTC Is Imposing Monetary Remedies Post-AMG Published Article By Dr. Andrew Stivers
Digital Platforms: Regulations to Be Perfected Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini
Interpreting Discrete Choice Models Book By Dr. Garett Glasgow
Novel Privacy Concerns in Health Care Antitrust Published Article By Dr. Andrew Stivers, Dr. Emily Walden, Dr. Subramaniam (Subbu) Ramanarayanan
The Role of Contract Structure for Damage Quantification: Pitfalls and Solutions Published Article Robert Lauer
The Proportionality of Merger Remedies in Differentiated Product Markets Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini
Algorithmic Pricing in Horizontal Merger Review: An Initial Assessment Published Article Dr. Cristián Hernández, et al.
For the CFPB, Evaluating “Junk Fees” May Be Complicated Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Sponsoring Entry in Merger Analysis Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini and Robert Lauer
Defining Relevant Markets in the Crypto Economy Published Article Dr. C-Philipp Heller, et al.