Antitrust and Competition

Antitrust and Intellectual Property

Antitrust and Intellectual Property

NERA economists have extensive experience working on issues at the intersection of antitrust and intellectual property (IP) law. NERA experts have prepared economic analyses for litigation and regulatory proceedings involving the use and abuse of standard setting, licensing and patent extension, mergers with intellectual property issues, damages assessments, and patent settlements.
 
We have experience working in a wide range of industries and keep pace with the ever-changing business world, including the rapidly evolving developments in the pharmaceutical, medical equipment, computer hardware and software, e-commerce, and other high-technology sectors.  We are adept at applying data analysis techniques and innovative econometric models to complex issues in cases that straddle IP and antitrust law. We also assist clients and counsel by preparing analyses and testimony in antitrust counterclaims, which are often filed in response to patent infringement suits.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Managing Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 3000
brad.heys@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Grant Saggers Managing Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director Washington, DC +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Eugene Ericksen Affiliated Academic Philadelphia +1 215 864 3878 eugene.ericksen.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Proportionality of Merger Remedies in Differentiated Product Markets Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini and Dr. Oliver März
Algorithmic Pricing in Horizontal Merger Review: An Initial Assessment Published Article Dr. Cristián Hernández, et al.
For the CFPB, Evaluating “Junk Fees” May Be Complicated Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Sponsoring Entry in Merger Analysis Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini and Robert Lauer
Defining Relevant Markets in the Crypto Economy Published Article Dr. C-Philipp Heller, et al.
Who’s Who Legal Interviews Grant Saggers as a Competition Thought Leader Expert QA Grant Saggers
A Practitioner’s Guide to Quantifying Damage Book Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, et al.
An Economic Perspective on the Usefulness of the Consumer Welfare Standard as a Guidi... Published Article Dr. Lawrence Wu and Dr. Craig Malam
What the FTC Staff Report Reveals About Internet Service Providers’ Data Collection Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Algorithms & Antitrust: An Overview of EU and National Case Law Published Article Dr. Sheng Li, Dr. Claire Chunying Xie, and Emilie Feyler