Antitrust and Competition

Cartels/Price Fixing

Cartels/Price Fixing

Investigations of and litigation concerning alleged cartel activity may cross international borders and include multiple legal jurisdictions. Fortunately, NERA’s global reach enables us to provide assistance to clients across Europe, Asia, and the Americas where regulators have heightened their focus on allegations of collusive anticompetitive behavior. As a result, NERA experts have extensive experience evaluating allegations of price fixing, bid rigging, customer and geographic allocation, buyer cartels, rate manipulation, and other collusive behavior throughout the world. Our economists have worked on a broad variety of criminal investigations and civil litigation involving allegedly anticompetitive agreements, including horizontal (between competitors) and vertical (between firms at different levels of the supply chain) agreements. Our previous work covers a wide variety of products and services, including agricultural commodities and natural resources, capital equipment, transportation and fuel surcharges, industrial inputs, consumer goods and services, and financial benchmarks.

NERA’s economists provide the full suite of capabilities and services needed to evaluate allegations of price fixing and other cartel activity, and to address all aspects and phases of the regulatory, enforcement, and legal processes that such allegations put into motion. We examine detailed transaction or bidding data and conduct a wide range of economic analysis to determine whether the alleged conspiracy is consistent with actual market conditions and rational economic behavior. Our experts assess the volume of commerce affected by alleged conspiracies, calculate the associated pecuniary gains or losses, and evaluate the effective duration and impact of alleged conspiracies.

In criminal matters, NERA's analyses have helped companies and individuals accused of anticompetitive collusion evaluate their exposure, prepare their best defense, or even avoid criminal charges altogether. In civil litigation, we examine whether liability, impact, and damages may be proved on a classwide basis using common proof; estimate overcharges, if any; and assist clients in reaching settlements with opposing parties. NERA experts also have testified at criminal and civil trials arising from cartel investigations, including testimony for individuals accused of criminal conduct.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1041 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Innovation Incentives in the Pharmaceutical Sector: Rethinking Competition and Public... Published Article Robert Lauer, et al.
Collaboration and Combination Due to 5G: Unlocking Investment or Reducing Competition... Published Article Dr. Will Taylor and Adrien Cervera-Jackson
The Role of Rebates in the Pharmaceutical Industry Published Article Dr. Chris Stomberg
Monetary Remedies After High Court FTC Ruling Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Economic Aspects of the ‘50+1 Rule’ in German Football Published Article Dr. C.-Philipp Heller
German Federal Cartel Office Market Investigation of Electric Vehicle Charging Statio... Published Article Dominik Hübler, Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, et al.
Class Action Lawsuits: Opportunities to Apply Econometrics and Statistics Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Dr. John Scalf
NERA Experts Comment on the OECD Proposal on Pillar One Blueprint Brief Dr. Harlow Higinbotham, Dr. Vladimir Starkov, Dr. Niraja Srinivasan, Nihan Mert Beydilli, Ralph Meghames, and Dr. Emmanuel Llinares
Antitrust Considerations in Payments Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang and Dr. Will Taylor
Consumer Welfare and Privacy in Antitrust Cases Published Article Dr. Garrett Glasgow and Dr. Chris Stomberg