Antitrust and Competition

General Antitrust and Competition Policy

General Antitrust and Competition Policy

Recent regulatory developments around the world suggest a growing movement by competition authorities toward more stringent enforcement and stronger penalties. In Europe, Australia, Asia, and the US, competition authorities continue to vigorously target price fixing and cartel activity. This trend has been accompanied by a shift toward a greater reliance on and increased scrutiny of quantitative analysis in antitrust and competition proceedings.

In order to comply with these more rigorous policies, companies need access to strong quantitative analytical capabilities while avoiding potentially costly "quick fixes." Shortcuts that fail to take into account the larger economic issues that affect complex antitrust matters can backfire, leaving businesses more vulnerable to litigation and regulatory investigations, challenges, or fines.

NERA's experts understand the specialized business issues and the broader economic conditions that underlie competition matters. Our expertise in applying rigorous economic, analytical, and quantitative tools to global antitrust and competition policy issues is reflected in our experts' numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals and other periodicals. NERA economists help clients bolster their legal and regulatory cases, counter allegations of antitrust violations, and anticipate internal vulnerabilities.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Bradley A. Heys Director Toronto
New York City
+1 416 868 7312
+1 212 345 2691
brad.heys@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Associate Director Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Kristin Terris Associate Director Los Angeles +1 213 346 3003 kristin.terris@nera.com
Tilling Lee Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9268 tilling.lee@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1041 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Innovation Incentives in the Pharmaceutical Sector: Rethinking Competition and Public... Published Article Robert Lauer, et al.
Collaboration and Combination Due to 5G: Unlocking Investment or Reducing Competition... Published Article Dr. Will Taylor and Adrien Cervera-Jackson
The Role of Rebates in the Pharmaceutical Industry Published Article Dr. Chris Stomberg
Monetary Remedies After High Court FTC Ruling Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Economic Aspects of the ‘50+1 Rule’ in German Football Published Article Dr. C.-Philipp Heller
German Federal Cartel Office Market Investigation of Electric Vehicle Charging Statio... Published Article Dominik Hübler, Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, et al.
Class Action Lawsuits: Opportunities to Apply Econometrics and Statistics Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang, Dr. Jordan Milev, and Dr. John Scalf
Fintech Developments and Antitrust Considerations in Payments Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang and Dr. Will Taylor
NERA Experts Comment on the OECD Proposal on Pillar One Blueprint Brief Dr. Harlow Higinbotham, Dr. Vladimir Starkov, Dr. Niraja Srinivasan, Nihan Mert Beydilli, Ralph Meghames, and Dr. Emmanuel Llinares
Antitrust Considerations in Payments Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang and Dr. Will Taylor