Antitrust and Competition

Horizontal and Vertical Agreements

Horizontal and Vertical Agreements

NERA's antitrust experts have assessed the economic rationales and effects of horizontal and vertical agreements across the globe. In the US, NERA experts have analyzed the competitive implications of agreements in industries as diverse as pet food, soft drinks, software, industrial products, coal, and franchising (including, for example, restaurants, tools, and professional sports). We assess the competitive impact of practices such as territorial exclusivity, cooperative advertising programs, exclusive dealing, and resale price maintenance. Our analyses have been presented to federal and state investigative agencies and in Federal and state courts.

NERA's European competition team is at the forefront in pushing for a more rigorous economic approach to the assessment of horizontal and vertical agreements. Our experts have analyzed the economic impact of numerous agreements between firms at different levels of the supply chain, including selective distribution, exclusive distribution, exclusive dealing, and the impact of recommended retail prices. NERA economists play an important ongoing role in this evolving area of European competition policy.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 6871 7041 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Grant Saggers Managing Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director Washington, DC +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Associate Director Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
The Proportionality of Merger Remedies in Differentiated Product Markets Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini and Dr. Oliver März
Algorithmic Pricing in Horizontal Merger Review: An Initial Assessment Published Article Dr. Cristián Hernández, et al.
For the CFPB, Evaluating “Junk Fees” May Be Complicated Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Sponsoring Entry in Merger Analysis Published Article Dr. Nicola Tosini and Robert Lauer
Defining Relevant Markets in the Crypto Economy Published Article Dr. C-Philipp Heller, et al.
Who’s Who Legal Interviews Grant Saggers as a Competition Thought Leader Expert QA Grant Saggers
A Practitioner’s Guide to Quantifying Damage Book Dr. C.-Philipp Heller, et al.
An Economic Perspective on the Usefulness of the Consumer Welfare Standard as a Guidi... Published Article Dr. Lawrence Wu and Dr. Craig Malam
What the FTC Staff Report Reveals About Internet Service Providers’ Data Collection Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Algorithms & Antitrust: An Overview of EU and National Case Law Published Article Dr. Sheng Li, Dr. Claire Chunying Xie, and Emilie Feyler