Antitrust and Competition

Mergers and Joint Ventures

Mergers and Joint Ventures

NERA economists have extensive experience in all phases of merger and joint venture analysis, including assessing the antitrust risks of a transaction; responding to second requests from the US Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission; explaining the likely competitive effects of a transaction before US agencies, the European Commission and the competition authorities of EU member states, Japan’s Fair Trade Commission, China’s Ministry of Commerce, the Australian Competition & Consumer Commission, and other jurisdictions throughout the world; and providing expert testimony in merger litigation.

Our experts provide extensive economic analysis of market definition, competitive effects, entry, and efficiencies. We have experience in a broad array of commercial, industrial, consumer product, health care, and high-technology industries. We recognize the vital importance of technical and quantitative rigor and, to that end, employ advanced approaches such as econometric estimation of the relevant demand elasticities and merger simulation. NERA’s global antitrust practice works on an increasing number of trans-national mergers, such as Anheuser Busch/InBev (US, UK, and China) and Sun/Oracle (US and EU).

NERA experts have analyzed the antitrust aspects of several of the largest transactions over the past several years, including Conoco/Phillips and Merck/Schering Plough before the US antitrust agencies, and numerous in-depth Phase II merger control cases under the European Merger Regulation, such as Thomson/Reuters, Inco/Falconbridge, and Universal/BMG Music Publishing.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Dr. Sumanth Addanki Managing Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4060 sumanth.addanki@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Dr. Graeme Hunter Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 7724 graeme.hunter@nera.com
Dr. Hiroaki Ishigaki Managing Director Tokyo +81 3 3500 3295 hiroaki.ishigaki@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Christine Siegwarth Meyer Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Intellectual Property Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4119 christine.meyer@nera.com
Dr. Chetan Sanghvi Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9240 chetan.sanghvi@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
Dr. Timothy Watts Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 1939 timothy.watts@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Stephanie Demperio Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9227 stephanie.demperio@nera.com
Bryan Ray Associate Director White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4004 bryan.ray@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Dr. Nicola Tosini Associate Director Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 1506 70
+32 2 674 88 17
+39 345 3942428
nicola.tosini@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Dirk van Leeuwen Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5318 dirk.van.leeuwen@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Prof. Dr. Marc Ivaldi Affiliated Academic Paris
Brussels
London
+33 1 70 75 01 90
+32 2 282 4340
+44 20 7659 8500
marc.ivaldi.affiliate@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwalbe Affiliated Academic Berlin
Brussels
+49 711 4592 2992
+32 2 674 8810
ulrich.schwalbe.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alan Cox Affiliated Consultant San Francisco +1 415 291 1000 alan.cox.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Joskow Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.joskow.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Alyssa Lutz Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 714 545 3000 alyssa.lutz@nera.com
Linda McLaughlin Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5340 linda.mclaughlin.affiliate@nera.com
Todd Morrison Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9213 todd.morrison.affiliate@nera.com