Antitrust and Competition

Economics of Privacy and Data Breaches

Economics of Privacy and Data Breaches

NERA has extensive experience in economic analysis of regulatory and legal issues related to privacy and data collection practices.  Our firm has a global reach, with our experts assisting clients in the United States, Europe, and the Asia-Pacific.  Our experts are thought leaders on the topics of privacy and the value of personally identifiable information (PII), both in the academic literature and in the context of privacy policies such as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA), the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Rule (COPPA), and Section 5 challenges under the FTC Act.

We employ cutting edge econometric, economic modeling, and survey methods to help our clients navigate through expert economic analysis of privacy and data security. We can assist in the development of economic context surrounding data privacy policies; analysis of consumer behavior in relation to privacy policies; reviewing economic analysis advanced by others; and developing and implementing methods to apply legal frameworks to the calculation of damages, fines, restitution, disgorgement, and unjust gains.

Our experience includes FTC investigations, Article 82 / 83 GDPR damages and fines cases, consumer class actions, individual civil lawsuits, and securities class actions.  The breadth of consultants and academic affiliates’ experience allows us to assist clients through all stages of litigation and regulatory investigations, including data collection and analysis for discovery, class certification, preparing expert reports to evaluate consumer harm from data breaches or violations of privacy policies, and the analysis of risk profiles associated with vulnerable data.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Sarah Butler Managing Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1022 sarah.butler@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Chris Stomberg Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9219 chris.stomberg@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
Chicago
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
+312 573 2827
lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Andrew Stivers Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 andrew.stivers@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Senior Consultant Houston +1 212 345 1343 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Senior Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. James Cooper Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 james.cooper.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Algorithms & Antitrust: An Overview of EU and National Case Law Dr. Sheng Li, Dr. Claire Chunying Xie, and Emilie Feyler
Monetary Remedies for Zero-Price Privacy Regulation Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Innovation Incentives in the Pharmaceutical Sector: Rethinking Competition and Public... Published Article Robert Lauer, et al.
Collaboration and Combination Due to 5G: Unlocking Investment or Reducing Competition... Published Article Dr. Will Taylor and Adrien Cervera-Jackson
The Role of Rebates in the Pharmaceutical Industry Published Article Dr. Chris Stomberg
Monetary Remedies After High Court FTC Ruling Published Article Dr. Andrew Stivers
Fintech Developments and Antitrust Considerations in Payments Published Article Dr. Ling Ling Ang and Dr. Will Taylor
NERA Experts Comment on the OECD Proposal on Pillar One Blueprint Brief Dr. Harlow Higinbotham, Dr. Vladimir Starkov, Dr. Niraja Srinivasan, Nihan Mert Beydilli, Ralph Meghames, and Dr. Emmanuel Llinares
Consumer Welfare and Privacy in Antitrust Cases Published Article Dr. Garrett Glasgow and Dr. Chris Stomberg
Privacy, Pricing, and the Value of Consumer Data: The Complex Nature of the CCPA’s No... Published Article Lawrence Wu