Antitrust and Competition

Privacy

Privacy

NERA has extensive experience in economic analysis of regulatory and legal issues related to privacy and data collection practices.  Our firm has a global reach, with our experts assisting clients in the United States, Europe, and the Asia-Pacific.  Our experts are thought leaders on the topics of privacy and the value of personally identifiable information (PII), both in the academic literature and in the context of privacy policies such as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA), the Children’s Online Privacy Protection Rule (COPPA), and Section 5 challenges under the FTC Act.

We employ cutting edge econometric, economic modeling, and survey methods to help our clients navigate through expert economic analysis of privacy and data security. We can assist in the development of economic context surrounding data privacy policies; analysis of consumer behavior in relation to privacy policies; reviewing economic analysis advanced by others; and developing and implementing methods to apply legal frameworks to the calculation of damages, fines, restitution, disgorgement, and unjust gains.

Our experience includes FTC investigations, Article 82 / 83 GDPR damages and fines cases, consumer class actions, individual civil lawsuits, and securities class actions.  The breadth of consultants and academic affiliates’ experience allows us to assist clients through all stages of litigation and regulatory investigations, including data collection and analysis for discovery, class certification, preparing expert reports to evaluate consumer harm from data breaches or violations of privacy policies, and the analysis of risk profiles associated with vulnerable data.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Dr. Lawrence Wu President San Francisco +1 415 291 1007 lawrence.wu@nera.com
Sarah Butler Managing Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1022 sarah.butler@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Grant Saggers Director London +44 20 7659 8802 grant.saggers@nera.com
Dr. Ling Ling Ang Associate Director New York City
Washington, DC
+1 212 345 5409
+1 202 466 9259
lingling.ang@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Dr. Chris Stomberg Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9219 chris.stomberg@nera.com
Nathan Blalock Senior Consultant Houston +1 212 345 1343 nathan.blalock@nera.com
Dr. Adjmal Sirak Consultant Berlin +49 30 700 1506 17 adjmal.sirak@nera.com
Dr. Michael Baye Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 9298 michael.baye.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. James Cooper Affiliated Academic Washington, DC +1 202 466 3510 james.cooper.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Privacy, Pricing, and the Value of Consumer Data: The Complex Nature of the CCPA’s No... Published Article Lawrence Wu
Schadensermittlung für Bußgeld- und Schadenersatzverfahren nach DSGVO White Paper Dominik Hübler, Dr. Adjmal Sirak, and Philipp Hiemann
The Role of Fixed Cost Savings in Merger Analysis White Paper James Mellsop
Survey Response Bias and the ‘Privacy Paradox’ Published Article Sarah Butler, Dr. Garrett Glasgow, and Dr. Samantha Iyengar
NERA Expert Featured on Legal Talk Network's Podcast Roundtable Discussion Dr. Sheng Li
Privacy and Platform Competition Published Article Dr. Slobodan Sudaric, et. al.
Damages Based On The Intrinsic Value Of Privacy? Published Article By Dr. Garrett Glasgow and Sarah Butler
The Value of Personal Information to Consumers of Online Services: Evidence from a Di... Study By Sarah Butler and Dr. Garrett Glasgow
Title Date Type
NERA Expert Ai Deng Awarded in Antitrust Writing Awards 2020 13 October 2020 Press Release