Regulatory Economics

NERA has made many important contributions to both the theory and the practice of regulatory economics over the past half century. This experience is more relevant than ever, as policy makers are increasingly using economic analysis in their assessment of options for the institutional structure and scope of regulation. Economic analysis is especially well suited to the task of designing and reforming regulatory institutions and methods because it is grounded in the principles of welfare maximization through market design. NERA experts, who are well versed in the most up-to-date and relevant research in these areas, use economics to help analyze issues, provide insights, and formulate practical, innovative solutions to a wide range of problems.

Our economists advise public bodies, regulators, and companies on how best to achieve efficiency and financial improvements through restructuring and privatization. We help companies and governments attain fiscal balance through the design of institutional and regulatory frameworks. Expert economic advice is essential for an understanding of the benefits and costs of different policy options, the extent to which industry restructuring is desirable and the need for and most effective forms of regulation. NERA advises regulators, governments, and industry on all these issues. We are also closely associated with what are now characterized as among the world's most successful reform initiatives in the electric utility, water, communications, and transport sectors.

Name Title Location Phone Email
Julie M. Carey Managing Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9203 julie.carey@nera.com
Dr. Christian Dippon Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Energy, Environment, Communications & Infrastructure Practice
Washington, DC
New York City
+1 202 466 9270
+1 212 345 1732
christian.dippon@nera.com
Dr. Jeffrey A. Eisenach Managing Director
Co-Chair, Communications, Media, and Internet Practice
Washington, DC
London
+1 202 448 9029
+44 20 7659 8500
jeff.eisenach@nera.com
Sean Gammons Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8564
+49 30 700 1506 01
sean.gammons@nera.com
Tomas Haug Managing Director Berlin
Brussels
+49 30 700 1506 10
+32 2 282 4340
tomas.haug@nera.com
Dr. Richard Hern Managing Director London
Berlin
+44 20 7659 8582
+49 30 700 1506 01
richard.hern@nera.com
Dr. Fabrizio Hernández Managing Director Madrid
Milan
+34 91 521 00 20
+39 02 30577800
fabrizio.hernandez@nera.com
Dr. Chantale LaCasse Managing Director Washington, DC
Toronto
+1 202 466 9218
+1 416 868 7314
chantale.lacasse@nera.com
Prof. Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud Managing Director
Head of Competition Economics Europe
Berlin
Brussels
Paris
+49 30 700 1506 80
+32 2 674 8818
+33 1 70 75 0180
frank.maier-rigaud@nera.com
Dr. Jeff D. Makholm Managing Director Boston +1 617 927 4540 jeff.makholm@nera.com
James Mellsop Managing Director Auckland
Wellington
Sydney
+64 9 928 3290
+64 4 819 2550
+61 2 8864 6536
james.mellsop@nera.com
Dr. Ramsey Shehadeh Managing Director New York City +1 212 345 6089 ramsey.shehadeh@nera.com
Dr. Lauren Stiroh Managing Director
Chair of NERA's Global Antitrust and Competition Practice
White Plains, NY +1 914 448 4143 lauren.stiroh@nera.com
George Anstey Director London
Brussels
+44 20 7659 8630
+32 2 282 4340
george.anstey@nera.com
Richard Druce Director London +44 20 7659 8540 richard.druce@nera.com
Daniel Hanson Director London +44 (0)207 659 8812 daniel.hanson@nera.com
Daniel Radov Director London +44 20 7659 8744 daniel.radov@nera.com
Kurt G. Strunk Director New York City +1 212 345 5035 kurt.strunk@nera.com
Dr. Airat Chanyshev Associate Director New York City +1 212 345 7336 airat.chanyshev@nera.com
Willis Geffert Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9293 willis.geffert@nera.com
Dr. Garrett Glasgow Associate Director San Francisco +1 415 291 1029 garrett.glasgow@nera.com
Bastian Gottschling Associate Director Frankfurt +49 69 710 447 504 bastian.gottschling@nera.com
Dominik Hübler Associate Director Berlin
London
+49 30 700 1506 20
+44 20 7659 8504
dominik.huebler@nera.com
Veronica Irastorza Associate Director San Francisco
Mexico City
+1 415 291 1016
+52 (55) 59993110
veronica.irastorza@nera.com
Dr. Robert Kulick Associate Director Washington, DC +1 202 466 9262 robert.kulick@nera.com
Dr. Laura T. W. Olive Associate Director Boston +1 617 927 4588 laura.olive@nera.com
Dr. Will Taylor Associate Director Auckland
Sydney
+64 9 928 3292
+61 2 8864 6535
will.taylor@nera.com
Kevin Counsell Senior Consultant Wellington
Sydney
+64 4 819 2551
+61 2 8864 7235
kevin.counsell@nera.com
Zuzana Janeckova Senior Consultant London +44 20 76 59 85 74 Zuzana.Janeckova@nera.com
Dr. Janusz Mrozek Senior Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9239 janusz.mrozek@nera.com
Marco Schönborn Senior Consultant Berlin
Brussels
Milan
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+49 30 700 15 06 30
+39 342 0636953
marco.schonborn@nera.com
Ivelina Velikova Senior Consultant New York City +1 212 345 1160 ivelina.velikova@nera.com
Ambrus Barany Consultant London +44 20 7659 8894 ambrus.barany@nera.com
Philipp Kröger Consultant Berlin +49 30 70 01506 11 philipp.kroeger@nera.com
Jim Yin Consultant London +44 20 7659 8814 jim.yin@nera.com
Dr. Elizabeth M. Bailey Affiliated Academic San Francisco +1 415 291 1041 elizabeth.bailey_affiliate@nera.com
Dennis Colenutt Affiliated Consultant London +44 20 7659 8500 dennis.colenutt.affiliate@nera.com
Jonathan Falk Affiliated Consultant New York City +1 212 345 5315 jonathan.falk.affiliate@nera.com
Hamish Fraser Affiliated Consultant London +44 7500 444 720 hamish.fraser.affiliate@nera.com
Mike King Affiliated Consultant Denver
San Francisco
Washington, DC
+1 303 357 4781
+1 303 618 4915
+1 303 618 4915
mike.king.affiliate@nera.com
Eugene Meehan Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9287 gene.meehan.affiliate@NERA.com
Dr. Hethie Parmesano Affiliated Consultant Los Angeles +1 213 346 3000 hethie.parmesano.affiliate@nera.com
Dr. Michael Rosenzweig Affiliated Consultant Washington, DC +1 202 466 9231 michael.rosenzweig.affiliate@nera.com
Title Type Author
Trends in Regulatory Enforcement in UK Financial Markets Reports Report By Erin B. McHugh
Cost of Equity for Regulated Networks: Recent Developments in Continental Europe Published Article Tomas Haug and Lorenz Wieshammer
Transport and Infrastructure - What to watch in 2019 Published Article Daniel Hanson
Snapshot of Recent Trends in Asbestos Litigation: 2018 Update White Paper Mary Elizabeth C. Stern and Lucy P. Allen
Crypto Market Surveillance Has Arrived Published Article Dr. Jordan Milev, et. al.
Cryptocurrencies: Fundamentals, Developments, and Regulation White Paper Dr. Airat Chanyshev
Asbestos: Economic Assessment of Bans and Declining Production and Consumption Report By Lucy P. Allen, Mary Elizabeth C. Stern, Jorge Baez, and Frank George
The Cost of Equity for Utilities – An International Perspective Presentation Dr. Richard Hern
Airbnb’s Global Support to Local Economies: Output and Employment Report By Dr. David Harrison Jr., Conor Coughlin, Dylan Hogan, and Eli Shakun
La Regulación de la Economía Colaborativa (Regulation of the Sharing Economy) Book By Bruno Soria